NaBloPoMo

Music and melodies in the morning

What is the first thing you do every single day? When did that step in your routine begin?

Actually trying to think about what you do every morning is a hard thing to do. Especially, if you are me and do things quite automatically. But I guess what I do every morning without fail is listen to music.

People honestly do not understand how powerful music is. It can alter a person’s mood just like that.

You’re probably going to think I’m crazy, but when I went to Berlin in 2010 with my school, I forced my friend to sing to me every morning.

You see, the problem was I had wiped my phone of most of it’s music to make space for pictures. I think I damn well nearly went crazy because I hadn’t realised how much I needed music. And not any music, every single genre of music that I was into at the time. Rock, pop, indie, jazz, blues, reggae and the list goes on. I needed it.

The only thing I had on my phone was literally just pop music, which wasn’t great. Especially as I like my music to match my mood. So, I moaned about this for about two days until one of my friends that I was sharing a room with me decided to sing. And from that moment, I knew how I was going to get through this musical drought. I was going to force my friend to sing to me whenever she had the chance.

And it worked. I remained completely sane, and she realised her talent for singing. I say, that was a successful trip.

Nakedstreetkid out x

Leave a Reply

