NaBloPoMo

Childhood Fear

What was your biggest fear as a child? Do you still have it today? If it went away, when did your feelings change?

Fear… It’s an interesting concept.

Fear is something that I do not take lightly. It was an ever present looming force over the whole of my childhood. Omnipotent, in a sense. The one to create fear is the one with the power.

I could name the obvious ones. My father, being one. But I feel as if I’ve mentioned all of that. So, a “normal” fear as a child for me… It’s probably the trees outside my house.

You see, I live right outside a public garden and there are these huge trees (London Plane Trees) which stand a massive 35m tall directly outside my bedroom window. Every night, I would look out at them and quake in fear as the wind would rip past it. I was convinced that one day it would topple over and I would be crushed. For some reason, the idea that it would crush me didn’t scare me, just all the consequences after it. That’s what I was scared of. The unending pain of being crushed.

Did I get over it? Why, yes. Yes I did. I just stopped thinking about it so much. I assured myself that if the tree really was to fall, it would hit the top bunk before falling on me. And I could probably survive being crushed by the top bunk rather than being crushed by a tree.

Completely plausible. Both scenarios.

Nakedstreetkid out x 😛

2 thoughts on “Childhood Fear”

  1. Hey, I just clicked on your blog and it intrigued me. Partly because of your blog name, partly because we’re only two years apart, partly because you’re also a girl, and partly because of what you write. Nice to meet you, you can count on me to follow your journey :).

    1. Nice to meet you too. It was lovely of you to comment. It’s always nice to see comments like this one. I really do appreciate it. 😊 Hope you have a lovely morning or afternoon. And if it’s night time in your part of the world, I hope you have a lovely night. 💙

Leave a Reply

