Uncategorized

Self-reflection in adolescent woes

Nothing is truly different about the places you go, it is the people that you meet that make the difference.

Now, I’ve noticed this about school the most. In my schooling career, I’ve been to about 3 schools in total, one for each milestone of my education – key stage 2/3, my GCSE’s and my A-levels. Particularly during A-levels, when I had to move from my secondary school to another sixth form (college/last two years of high school). There, what I craved immensely were my friends from my secondary school and it didn’t matter how much my new school offered me, I was still attached to my friends from my previous school. I would sit there and reminisce about a time not too far into the past, when my mates and I would play chase in the hall way of our school. Or do the most ridiculous things during break. Like building slides and having sing-offs with one another. Those were one of the best times of my life and I just couldn’t quite let that piece of thread attaching me to my friends go.

In the beginning, I thought it was my school that I missed the most, but of course, it was my mates. And, in all honesty, that’s something you can’t ever really detach. You can’t ever really detach the friendships you have made in the past, but you can begin to thread new ones with the people you have around you.

And that’s what I did.

And I’ll never regret it.

Because I’ve come to the realisation, that the time I have left with my friends is short. This is the only time in my life where I will see them for a minimum of five days a week, consistently for six, seven, maybe eight weeks at a time and it’s scary to think that. That the people you form these bonds with will soon leave. And you can get so caught up with what is happening now, what’s happening in the present. With all your exams and adolescent woes that continue to accumulate before you realise that this time is short. And when you realise that and take a look into the reality of your future with these people, you’ll see worth in them. The value, the riches that they carry with every experience that they sew into every fibre of your being.

And I don’t mean that in a romantic way or anything. I just mean that, as soon as you take a second to think about your future, you begin to realise more and more that these friendships that you have woven so tightly will soon loosen. And with that realisation, you’ll be more inclined to appreciate what you have around you. The friendships that you have made.

So, it isn’t ever really the place that makes your experiences special, but the people involved in your experiences. The people who sew on the badges of each experience that you share. That is what makes the difference.

That is what promotes growth.

So don’t ever forget them, value your experiences now but remember the future is still yet to come.

Nakedstreetkid out x

Leave a Reply

