Uncategorized

Mild Truths and Obvious Beginnings

Recently I discovered a few mild truths that should have been obvious to me but never was. Here are just a few of them:

1) Be selfish. There are very few things that I wouldn’t give up to make people happy. My time I could and would give up in a heartbeat. I wouldn’t care, as long as it helped them. And that is a bad habit. There are times when I must think about myself, remember my needs before anyone else’s. I must remember my worth in this world and realise I am valuable to others in so many ways – not just by helping them. So, yes, be selfish. Find a healthy balance between selfishness and selflessness and you’ll be fine.

2) Intelligence is not fixed. Intelligence is flexible. This is something I forget often because I have spent my life believing that people are born intelligent. That their wealth of knowledge only facilitates their intelligence. They’re amazing because their intelligence is inherent. Which, of course, is not true. Intelligence can be learnt. Just give it a few hours, a few days, a few weeks and you can be intelligent. But, remember, intelligence that is the same can be worn in different ways. It’s your decision how you choose to wear yours.

3) Responsibility is not being a leader, responsibility is knowing what to do and then doing it. To me, responsibility has always meant that I must assume the position of authority. It meant that I had to be an expert in a certain field of knowledge, so that I would be able to adapt to anything that happens. But, I guess, responsibility is recognising what needs to be done and then from there, doing it to a high standard. It’s being independent of an authoritative figure, not assuming their role. For example, if I were to work in a shop and see the bin is overflowing with rubbish, I would take the initiative to empty it. I wouldn’t wait for my manager to come along and tell me such a fact. Because that is my responsibility and no one else’s.

At the end of the day, if I have a goal, I should aim for it. A goal stops being a fantasy when I open my eyes and start being realistic about my path. I should stop questioning my path in general, really. I should stop focusing my heart and soul upon each frivolous moment and remember why I’m doing what I’m doing. Where do I want to be in the next 5 years? And, why?

Those are the things I should remember. As my brother said:

“Persistence and determination is what gets you there, consistency is what keeps you there.”

Nakedstreetkid out! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

