Uncategorized

Connected to an online world

There are days when I seriously don’t want to be connected to the internet 24/7. Where all I want to do is be as disconnected from it as possible. Because I hate that people can get in touch with me all the time. And that I’m never truly by myself. And that there’s always someone that wants me to do something even if I haven’t seen them in ages. I hate it. Absolutely hate it.

And have you noticed how you can never truly disconnect? How at every corner there’s an opportunity to connect to some free wifi? You are never free from those emails, whatsapp messages? Not even for a second now a days. Don’t get me wrong, of course it’s good every now and again, but ALL the time is a little bit too much.

Oh! And don’t you hate the amount of apps there are? There are too many! Which sounds really – in a way – spoilt. But there are too many! I wish it was simple again. Like it used to be. I miss those brick phones that I simply used as an actual phone. And which I occasionally used to play snakes on. Oh, those were the days! When the only apps you had were your phone book and games. What good times.

But who am I kidding? It’s a choice that I can make. If I really want to disconnect, all I have to do is turn my phone off for a day and not go on the computer. Maybe even rock up to the library on a more frequent basis for something OTHER than revision. But for the massive amount of books that they have locked up in there. Discover new things, learn how to knit maybe, at the LIBRARY no less!

Oh, that would be fun. That would be really fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

