Uncategorized

Napping through depression

So, I’ve been tired lately. And that’s mostly because I’ve been going to sleep at horrendous times. For example, on Monday, I went to sleep at 4 am and had to get up at 7 am. And I don’t know why. Because, I’ve had the opportunity to go to sleep at 10 o’clock, but I don’t. And that’s mostly because… I have a nap as soon as I get home. And I guess it’s not healthy.

But I’ve been having fun this week. I’ve been getting involved and all that jazz. I think that it’s really good because then I have distractions and distractions are very important compared to staying at home and napping on the coach. Because that’s what I would have been doing if I stayed at home. That’s when my depression starts up again. And I know I talk about it as if it were a rash but it literally feels like it. The suddenness of it, the speedy way it is able to infect all areas of my life is astounding. Just like a rash.

I think the only reason I force myself to get up every morning is because it’s worth it. I find it difficult but it is worth it. And pro-activity can sometimes be the best medicine towards preventing the lack of motivation that strolls along with depression.

But, yeah. Sleeping. It’s not my strong suit.

2 thoughts on “Napping through depression”

  1. Naps always seem helpful…but I think to be honest…I have found that they often make me less wanting to engage with the rest of the world. After a nap, I often feel more tired, alone, and sad. Do you find that you are the same way? Maybe forcing yourself (although not too harshly XD) to go out for a walk or some coffee with friends every once in a while might be a better solution. Do something you love. I find the more I wake myself up to seize the day…the less I sit in my room thinking and worrying myself to sleep. ❤ Either way…I hope it gets better for you…

    1. Yeah, I definitely agree. I think that I was slightly unclear in my post. I do try and do my best to be actively engaged with things that happen outside my bedroom. Because I don’t want to fall into a sudden bout of depression. But it is difficult not to plunge into old habits. So, the urge to stay at home and sleep is hard to resist if I’ve had a particularly hard day. But to counteract that, this summer I’ve tried to organise enough events/activities/programmes where I’m constantly busy. So, I am trying my best to go out and do things I love. But again, wanting to sleep in the middle of the day – essentially having a nap – can sometimes trigger my depression. And then I don’t want to do all that I’ve organised. And then a cycle begins. But I will try and do more things in the evening now. Thank you for your advice. And thank you for the well wishes. It is much appreciated. I hope that you recover too. x 🙂

Leave a Reply

